Book Review

Hey y’all! I’m going to try something new so hang in there. Part of my new year’s resolution was to read more books. It had been a while since I really had lost myself in a book besides reading all Hunger Game books over a Christmas break (not sorry) so I decided to poke around and see what’s out there to read. Turns out there’s a lot I want to read. I have a long list, like longer than a grocery list of a college kid who’s been waiting for his parents to come into town long, and I’m ready to start crossing some of them off.

I’ve read a few and now I would like the opportunity to share with you about my choices. I know I said I wanted to get away from some of the heavier stuff but I haven’t completely strayed from that. My first book to review is Little Bee by Chris Cleave.

Little Bee

This book is about two women that meet once in a horrible situation in Nigeria and then again two years later in England facing a second horrible situation. While not a book for someone looking for a light read, it has a lot of heart (and heart ache) in it. It was a challenging read because of the strong emotions in it but I thought Cleave showcased the power of internal battles in the face of external hardships in Little Bee. That’s where I found the most strength in this book, was the decisions made by both Little Bee and Sarah while being torn in two directions mentally and emotionally. It was far more realistic when it comes to human nature and human tendencies and I would recommend it for someone looking to step out of their comfort zone. I know I did! Don’t worry there is comedic provided by Sarah’s son Charlie that seems to break the tension at just the right times, as little ones tend to do.

Has anyone else read Little Bee and have a different opinion or something to share?

several roller coaster lives lived indeed

Coming up to be reviewed: Girls in White Dresses and In the Garden of Beasts!

(Hey at least one of these is light-hearted)

Leave a Reply

