Chocolate Espresso Shortbread

I really hope not all of yall gave up cookies or sweets for Lent this year because I have a really good recipe to share. Chocolate espresso shortbread cookies! I actually made these cookies over the Christmas break and forgot about them and the pictures I took. I brought them wherever I went over the break to share and I think they went over pretty well. It’s chocolatey balanced by everyone’s favorite, coffee. Plus, if you have weened yourself off of caffeine like I have it gives you quite a jolt after like, I don’t know, 3 or 4 of them… Or 5. It was the holidays, don’t judge.

I followed the recipe directly from here. Now I don’t have photos from all the steps because I got lost in the recipe and baking and sugar everywhere, but here you go.

You will need:

1 tablespoon instant espresso powder
1 tablespoon boiling water
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
4 ounces bittersweet chocolate (plain, or a toffee variety), finely chopped, or 3/4 cup store-bought mini chocolate chips
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting (optional)

Gather all your ingredients

Measure out 1 tbsp espresso powder and dissolve it in 1 tbsp boiling water. Take a moment to enjoy the smell of espresso filling your kitchen. It’s splendid.

1 tbsp instant espresso powder

1 tbsp boiling water + 1 tbsp espresso

Let it cool to about lukewarm temperature. While it’s cooling, mix the butter and confectioners sugar together.

butter + confectioners sugar

Stand mixer action shot. It’s ok to be jealous. Especially with the new paddle. Make sure you sing some MJ while you’re doing this. It enhances the flavor.

just beat iiiiiiiiiiiiiit. beat iiiiiiiiiiiiiit.

Measure out your vanilla extract and pour it in to the butter and sugar, along with the espresso. Then mix in the flour enough so it has just disappeared into the dough.

mix in espresso and vanilla

yum

Gently fold in the chocolate chips. I’m pretty sure I added more than Smitten Kitchen suggests but somehow that just didn’t ruin them. Who knew?

fold in gently

Ok, I don’t have a picture for this step so please forgive me. You take the dough and put it in a gallon sized ziploc bag. Roll it out into a rectangle that’s about 1/4 inch thick. Make sure to lift the plastic from the dough occasionally so you don’t get creases. Seal the bag and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

After the 2 hours or so, preheat your oven to 325 and line cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats. I used a Silpat. They’re awesome. Cut the cookies into whatever shape you want and prick with a fork twice in each cookie.

I like the fluted edge. A lot.

Bake for 18-20 minutes or until they are pale. Let cool on a rack. If you want, you can dust with more confectioners sugar to make them look pretty. Orrrrrrrrrr not and eat them as soon as you can stand the heat. I chose option 2.

let cool and enjoy!

Chocolate + Espresso + Shortbread = De (wait for it) lightful

Bonus points if you get the reference above. Enjoy your shortbread cookies! I know I did.

One thought on “Chocolate Espresso Shortbread

Leave a Reply

